I Like This Stuff – 5th Edition

He likes this stuff too!

I haven’t posted an “I Like This Stuff” for months.  I’ve liked some stuff but just haven’t blogged about it.  Find earlier installments here, here, here and here.

Grosgrain offers a link to a link that shows you how to make your own sewing patterns out of clothes that you own.  This is fantastic if you love the fit of a top but it is wearing thin.  You do read, Grosgrain, right?  If not, you are missing out on a guaranteed smile everyday.

Wearing History’s 1930s gown – This is one of the most gorgeous garments I’ve ever seen.  Homesewn or not.  Lauren has created wonderful patterns based on vintage patterns and her blog is a daily treat for me.  I have not attempted one of her patterns yet but I have many on my wish list.  I don’t want to copy any of her gown photos but here is the inspiration photo.

Carole Lombard

Hawt modesty (I think I invented this term) – I was poking around Simplicity’s website and found this…

Hawt, but cool, am I right?

Isn’t this super hawt but shows nothing…no cleavage, collar bone or even a knee?  If I made this and wore it to work I’d have to make sure I arranged a lunch date with the hubby.  Don’t want to waste this dress on just co-workers.

Surplice Neckline – diagonally crossed neckline and/or bodice. It is also thought of as a “faux wrap” style and creates a deep v-shaped neckline.

Top and Dress with Surplice Neckline

I just learned this term.  I thought it was called a mock-wrap bodice.  Anyway, my TOA dress has a surplice neckline.  Who knew?!

Butterick 5319 bodice

Balloon Sleeve – A very full sleeve – -usually 3/4-length or longer — that has a banded bottom is called a balloon sleeve.

Gorgeous sheer balloon sleeve

Blouse with balloon sleeves

Right now I love anything with a balloon sleeve.  Especially wonderful for pear-shaped bodies.  I plan to look for more of these when pattern shopping.  Please pass on any that you come across.

I hope you like some of the stuff that I like.  If not maybe you learned something anyway.  What are you “liking” in fashion or sewing?

What I’m listening to: Victory Dance by My Morning Jacket

2 thoughts on “I Like This Stuff – 5th Edition

  1. I love that New Look Pattern, and thank you for the link for drafting a pattern from something you already own – I have a pair of trousers that I love and wear to death for work that could do with cloning…

    • I love that dress so much. I’m already picturing it for fall/winter in a tweed…
      Trousers are the most difficult thing to buy, for sure. Once you find a pair that fits right it seems like you can’t find them again. It would be nice to sew the perfect pair.
      Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a comment