Underneath It All

*NOTE: If you are my father or brother you may not want to read this post as I will talk about undergarments…MY undergarments.*  This week I stitched these up.

20140519-120751.jpg

There are 2 of them and they are about 4 inches wide.  What are they?  Well, I love wearing skirts, especially in the summer, but I hate summer thigh chafe…perhaps you know it as chub rub.  I was gifted the stretch lace when I won a pattern online and wasn’t sure what to do with it until I saw an ad selling these garter-looking things to combat this issue.  I serged the lace together to my thigh size and discovered that I needed something to keep them up (didn’t want them falling around my ankles, can you imagine?!) and found stay-up elastics in the bra-making section of Fabricland.

 

20140521-122500.jpg
I used a stretch stitch, the one that looks like a 7, and attached them at the top of the lace.  Now they stay up where they are supposed to.  (I used green thread since I had it in my machine for the eyelet lace skirt you see underneath the garter.)

20140519-111929.jpg

Now you know why I’m smiling!

 

5 thoughts on “Underneath It All

  1. What a great use for stretch lace. I love the stuff myself. It makes pretty panties, lingerie, I’ve topped tights that had a habit of falling down with it to make a wider waist band. And there is a whole new use I hadn’t thought of.

  2. What a great idea! I love it. Thanks for sharing it with us. 🙂 I may never use it, but knowing I can is all I need. (I wear slacks most of the time, but summer dresses are getting really cute so I may indulge).

Leave a Reply

