Me-Made-May’14 Week 3

20140519-111929.jpg

This is basically my uniform. Here is one of my elastic-waist skirts with a DKNY Cozy. It is not a slimming outfit but I don’t subscribe to dressing to look thinner as the be-all end-all of style. If I wore something that took off 10 lbs would my day suddenly be better? Sometimes I like a skirt that hugs my curves but some days I want to be free. This was one of those days.

20140519-111953.jpg

This is my Garden Party dress. I get compliments every time I wear it.

20140519-112016.jpg

My Steinaway dress. It was a gorgeous day and this dress is like a nightgown. So flowy and comfortable.  I don’t know why I haven’t made it a second time.  Next time I would take it in at the hips and take some width out of the neckline.  It is a little gapey.

20140519-112043.jpg

Here is the uniform again. Elastic-waist skirt and DKNY Cozy. This was on the weekend and included a trip to the library. One of the books I picked up was Overdressed. It is about over-consumerism in fashion in the US. But obviously relates to Canada as well. It is a book I have wanted to read for a while but was scared it was going to change me. And I didn’t know if I was ready. So far so good. I will let you know if I am changed.

20140519-112106.jpg
And a last fun photo. Stein takes my photos most days (unless they are in the mirror) and he takes dozens. Here is one he kept taking as I was reaching for my phone.

Have you read Overdressed? Do you think as a nation (Canada, US) we over-consume? Is sewing our own clothes one of the answers to this problem, if it is a problem?

8 thoughts on “Me-Made-May’14 Week 3

  1. It changed my life. But I was heading in that direction anyway. I enjoyed the book. I just want to have more beautiful things around me. I like the idea of slow clothes. The quality of RTW that I can afford is generally crap. And don’t start me on fit….Once you are aware it is really difficult to purchase ready to wear -….I like your comment about dressing for comfort. I completely agree.

  2. I read Overdressed and I am completely convinced that we over-consume. I am sort of pleased with my increasingly me-made wardrobe for that reason alone. I love your outfits – especially the garden party dress and the Steinway dress.

  3. I haven’t read the book but I do think we buy too much we don’t need. I think I am going to do the RTW challenge next year. I really would prefer to make my own things slowly and carefully, with quality, something RTW doesn’t have anymore. I love the Garden Party dress too!

  4. Hi – I read Overdressed a little while ago, and yes, it caused a certain amount of nausea (I’m from Australia, so our overconsumption issue is very similar to Canada and the US). It is a well written book. I’ve been sewing for a while now, but my teenagers are in the zone of buying the latest thing, which they do because they can afford to! I’m always banging on about the lack of quality, and the radical idea of clothes being made to last which causes a bit of eyerolling I must say. Hopefully something of what I say will eventually sink in. Here’s hoping

    • As I read I’m just glad that I’m nowhere near as bad as some shoppers she writes about.
      Teenagers likely won’t listen but point out good quality items when you see them. Or find the Fifth Estate documentary on Bangladesh. It’s a Canadian show and really shows both sides.

Leave a Reply

