80% Feels Just Right

I have successfully negotiated with my company to reduce my work week to 4 days! I am really excited about it. It is strange to request less time and money but once they understood my reasons they really wanted to make it work for me.

The first thing that came to mind is that I will now have more sewing time. But it is about more than that. There are lots of things that I just don’t have time and energy for working 5 days a week. No soap operas and bon bons for me! I want the extra time to be productive but also recreative.

This brings me to my Sew You Think You Can Sew list:

Butterick 5283 (Clearance) – A simple knit top. I need a few basic tops and thought this pattern would be nice. I especially like the twist front.

Butterick 5500 – This was a Butterick pattern of the week for $2.99. I love the dress/coat and the shirt/jacket (shacket?). I see this in black and white with yellow accents. I may attempt bound buttonholes on the dress.

Vouge 1199 – Isn’t this blouse lovely? It is classified as Average difficulty but I will take my time with it. The ruffles will be very time-consuming but I think they are so beautiful. And the skirt will be a nice for winter. I do plan to bring the neckline up on the blouse as it is a little low and I want to find a fabric that is similar in colour, sort of blush.

Those are the patterns that I have coming in the mail. I am excited to learn a few new skills with these patterns. Winter may also provide more indoor and, therefore, more sewing time.

What are your plans for the fall/winter?

What I’m listening to: All of My Days and All of My Days Off by A.C. Newman

“I give you all of my days And all of my days off.”

Leave a Reply

