Starting a Tote Bag


Generally a simple tote bag should be a quick project but I saw this Vogue 8662 pattern and loved the smallest bag. I thought it would be so cute for my brother’s wedding but didn’t get around to making it. It is not a simple tote as it is lined and has a pocket and reinforced bottom but I have many unlined totes that I just don’t use.

I have now decided to do the larger bag for fall/winter. The pattern calls for home dec fabrics and I love searching through the HUGE bolts looking for the perfect thing. The problem is that I love too many.

I chose a blue and white floral that would match my eventual Lady Grey winter coat. I wanted a completely different but coordinating fabric to go with it and chose a gorgeous Chinese lantern print. It may not be as winter as I wanted but I couldn’t leave without it once I saw it.

Tote Bag Fabrics and Buttons

My plan is for the front to be in the blue floral and the back to be the lantern fabric.  The lining inside will be the same fabrics but opposites on each side.  I’ll probably do the inside pocket in the floral since the lantern print may be too large.  The bag closes with one button and a ribbon loop from side to side and then another button and ribbon loop from front to back.  I hope it makes more sense once I get started.  I’ll probably do the floral for the bottom as it is a darker fabric and has less chance of getting dirty.  I need to pick up double-sided fusible interfacing which I have never used before and the cashier forgot to charge me for the buttons so I guess I HAVE to go back tomorrow.  🙂

What I’m listening to: All Delighted People by Sufjan Stevens

One thought on “Starting a Tote Bag

  1. Pingback: Starting Cotton Wrap Dress « Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

