Anniversary Wishes

It is my 4th Blogoversary! Wow! Four years of putting words out there and wondering if anyone is reading.  I am not fishing for confirmation, I swear. It is just that you don’t really know if anyone is actually finding your words interesting or funny or, hopefully, informative. That is why I really write for me. Figuring if I like what I do at least it is authentic. And I have a real urge to write. If I wasn’t writing this I would likely be writing journals or poems. On our recent road trip hubby and I were writing titles for songs for a non-existent Veronica Mars musical. (“I Called You A Psychopath, Now I Call You Boyfriend” and “Some of My Closest Friends Are Gang Members”).

Anyway, thank you for reading!

Now on to the sewing. April 2015 will be me and hubby’s 20th wedding anniversary. That sounds so long! Obviously we were practically kids (22, 24) but it remains one of the best decisions I ever made.  We have been talking about what we should do to celebrate our 20th. Stein votes Paris. I would like to throw a big dance party. How about a dance party in Paris?! Either way I would like to sew a dress for the occasion. It started out with me wanting to sew a new version of my wedding dress.

20140810-142729-52049661.jpg

I wore a long fit and flare dress with spaghetti straps that was topped with a full-length coat with sheer sleeves. The dress, coat cuffs and collar were made with satin-backed crepe, using the crepe side. The coat was made with a scroll brocade fabric that I found in the drapery section of Fabricland. I want my anniversary dress to have a sheer element, like my original sleeves, and in a non-floral brocade. I remember looking specifically for a non-floral brocade when I was shopping for my wedding dress fabric. I was NOT a princess type and wanted a cool, modern look. It probably ended up being more retro than I realized. Pre-internet! So, to find my fabric, I have been poking around the internet looking at non-floral brocades and wondering what colour to make. My dress was white because it was already so unconventional that I thought the traditional white would make sure I looked like a bride. For my anniversary I do not want white so I can wear it to other weddings and, to be honest, white isn’t the greatest colour for me. Finally it dawned on me! My wedding colour was a dark teal. I was kinda jealous that my wedding party got to wear it and I was stuck in white.

20140810-142731-52051031.jpg

Now I was looking for a non-floral brocade in blue. Lo and behold one turns up on Google images from Joann’s Fabric in the US. On our recent road trip to Moses Lake, Washington I stopped in at Joann’s and there it was! It is a poly blend so it’s going to be non-breathable and hot but I figured I could line it in something luxuriant because it was so reasonably priced AND an additional 50% off! It ended up being $5 a yard.

20140810-142732-52052551.jpg

Non-floral brocade in teal

Originally I was thinking about sewing a dress-coat combo like my wedding dress but the more I thought about it the more I liked the idea of taking my favourite elements from the coat and making a dress. I may stitch up a simple coat but the dress will be the feature.  I do want a sweetheart neckline like my original dress so I though I could adapt Sewaholic Cambie. I will add an illusion neckline to mimic the sheer sleeves on my original coat. I am leaning toward sleeveless but the 3/4 length sheer sleeves also look so classic. Grace Kelly-esque. 

20140818-100414-36254950.jpg

Lovely illusion neckline with sleeves

The skirt needs to be a fit and flare. I have a skirt pattern that should do, with some changes. The skirt is high-waisted so it should blend with the Cambie bodice nicely. I will have to try to match up the waist darts in the bodice with the princess seams of the skirt.

20140818-100446-36286690.jpg

Butterick 5859 High-waisted skirt with princess seaming

 

It should all make more sense when I start my test garments.  Hopefully it works out and hopefully I have the sense to know if it isn’t working.  I have 8 months so it will be a good winter project.

So, happy blogoversary to me!  Have you done an illusion neckline?  Any suggestions for combining 2 patters?

20140818-103421-38061971.jpg

My quick initial sketch. I am NOT an illustrator. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Anniversary Wishes

  1. Happy, happy Blogoversary and happy 20th anniversary. I just celebrated my 20th wedding anniversary in July. I got married the summer before I turned 30. I chose London! And my husband agreed. Enjoy making your anniversary dress and thank you for your blog. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your Blogoversary and your upcoming 20th!
    I recently smushed a few patterns together to make a dress. http://finishedthread.blogspot.ca/2014/08/the-nostalgia-dress-sub-titled-mapping.html
    I made sure the shoulder seams and the bodice length matched.
    A few things I will correct next time:
    -use pieces from patterns I have used before. The front bodice of my mash-up was new to me. I like how the sleeves turned out, but I wasn’t too keen on the original darts. I plan to use this combination again, but will use the darts from Simplicity 2444 rather than Vogue 1136.
    I should have lengthened the skirt a bit. The TNT skirt I used, when worn only as a skirt, sits just below my natural waist and hits just below the knee. On the dress, it sits at the waist and ends a little above the knee. Obviously not a deal-breaker, but something to consider.
    I think this will look great when it is done. I’ll be watching to see the finished product.
    PS I just ordered the same Butterick pattern you are going to use on an OOP sale being held now by McVogrick.

  3. Congrats on your 20th. Great idea to make something inspired by your wedding dress. The Colette Macaron seems to be a dad ringer for the top half of your sketch. You’d just need to sub in a fit and flare skirt. Can’t wait to see what you come up with:)

    • I thought about the Macaron too. I don’t own it yet. Maybe I could order it…
      It would make the illusion neckline easier for sure. I was thinking about drafting it. *Gulp*
      Thanks for the comment!

    • Congrats on 10! Basically when you are married this long you no longer have any stories from before you were married. 😄
      I hope the dress turns out okay… I certainly can’t squeeze into my wedding dress! 😳

  4. I know it’s late, but happy belated Blogoversary and happy early 20th anniversary! You look amazing in that wedding dress. Very gorgeous!

    Paris is nice. Dance party is also a great idea. I’ve been to Paris once. I went to Paris by van. It was an 8 hour drive from Speyer to Paris. I recommend going on boat ride and checking out Notre Dame. I didn’t get a chance to go to Disneyland or going inside Eifell Tower. Line was so long. I only stayed there for 2 days. I’d like to go there again. Paris is amazing. If we get a chance to meet up I can show you some pictures when I went to Paris =)

Leave a Reply

