Finished: Butterick 5687 (the Stephanie Skirt)

 

photo

This is the skirt that I made a wearable muslin for a while ago, the Red Salsa skirt. I have decided to call it the Stephanie skirt because when I started making it I kept thinking “my friend Stephanie will love this skirt!” Pencil with a fancy flounce at the back! Just her style. Anyway, I hope she likes it.

I made it from the super bargain wool/silk blend that I found in the discount section at Fabricland. It is a great neutral. Steel blue will go with almost anything!

20140615-210415-75855331.jpg

This skirt has 3 flounces at the back. I cut the top and bottom flouce out of the skirt fabric and the middle flounce out of a grey lace. I used my lace edge technique from my eyelet lace skirt, adding the scalloped edge to the cut lace. I think it is really pretty.

20140615-210341-75821067.jpg

The back seam below the zipper is a little wavy for sure.  Hmm…  Pressing may help. I paired it with my Pewter Pendrell blouse. A nice match I think.

I think this will be a great staple in my wardrobe.  The blue jeans of dressy skirts.  Do you have a great dressy staple?

 

4 thoughts on “Finished: Butterick 5687 (the Stephanie Skirt)

  1. Pingback: Favourites Week – Day 2: Sewn Garments | Falling Through Your Clothes

  2. Pingback: Favourites Week: Day 4 – Fabrics | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

