Fabric from the east

20140608-211755-76675482.jpg

My lovely sister-in-law and little bro bought me fabric while they were in Vietnam. Isn’t it lovely?! They also visited Cambodia and…umm, I forget. Sorry! Check out their travel blog here.

Anyway, they made such a great choice with the blue and the unique peacock print. *le sigh*

It even came with an instruction sheet. Thanks, Vietnamese fabric shop owner!
20140608-211257-76377371.jpg

20140608-211258-76378977.jpg

I am leaning toward sewing a top and skirt. That way I could wear it as separates or together. Maybe a dress or a robe. Or nightgown. I am very undecided. I want this special length of fabric to get a special pattern.

What should I make? Top and skirt or dress or robe? Something else entirely?

8 thoughts on “Fabric from the east

  1. Oh… I’m so jealous! What a beautiful piece of fabric. I would probably make a top and skirt… but it is a perfect design for a robe too. However, not many would be able to see the beautiful fabric if you made it into a robe. πŸ™‚ What about a light jacket and a skirt? Oh, the possibilities! Please keep us updated on it πŸ™‚

    • My SIL said she was glad to know what to buy me. We generally buy each other little gifts on vacation. This wasn’t so little. I gotta step it up. πŸ™‚

  2. OMG Gorgeous!

    I feel like top and skirt might be the best bang for this special fabric—maximum wearing options. On the other hand, a dress would be gorgeous. Robe… depends on how much you like/wear them, same with the nightie, but it seems like a shame to make this amazing fabric into something hardly anyone will see. BEAUTIFUL!

  3. Pingback: Let’s Play Catchup | Falling Through Your Clothes

  4. Pingback: More Fabric from afar! | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

