Fabric from the desert: 2014 Edition

This was our third trip to the Palm Springs area. And I am sort of lying when I call this post “Fabric from the desert” since I bought the fabric in Los Angeles. Not the desert. Anyway, it came via the desert. :). We took the opportunity to visit the garment district in LA while we were in California.

First up is hubby’s choice for his trucker jacket test garment. It is a beautifully soft corduroy in a pale grey, almost silver. I love it and I hope it is a wearable muslin. We’ll see.

20140530-135508-50108633.jpg

Next is a stretch denim for me. Both of these were from Michael Levine’s. I am going to try my hand at jeans. Pretty nervous about it but I think the dark denim could hide a lot of mistakes. 😉

20140530-135708-50228966.jpg

I heard about this shop from a blogger who did a video about the Fashion District. Tex Carmel was amazing! The owner was so kind and funny. I picked up the silk with the Roman figures and smiled. (At least they looked Roman to me. Am I way off?) He immediately unrolled it, it is only a remnant. He offered me an okay deal and I was ready to walk away…but at the last second I took it. Might become a purse.

20140530-135736-50256736.jpg

To give you a closer look at this floral silk. Right away I thought “lingerie” but hubby thought “dress” so more people will see it. What a gem!

20140530-135754-50274777.jpg

We also stopped at Michael Levine’s Loft. Fabric sold by the pound. The vast majority of stock was scrap. But husband’s sharp eye saw this tweed. He said it would make a great Chanel style jacket. Okay, he didn’t say Chanel but I knew what he was talking about. 2.5 yards cost $7 total and the bolt said it was originally $10/yard.

20140530-135809-50289021.jpg

The Fashion District is amazing! Dozens of shops. I also grabbed some metal zippers which I’ve really loved working with lately. I recommend a trip if you are in the LA area.

Have you been to the LA Fashion District? Were you overwhelmed? What do you think of my grabs?

5 thoughts on “Fabric from the desert: 2014 Edition

  1. I’ve been up to LA a few times, and the first trip, I was completely overwhelmed! But since then, I’ve gone with a plan and that helped a lot. Unfortunately, the day I went to Levine Loft it was really hot and so I didn’t feel like sticking around to find any gems. Although I did some good damage in the regular Levine store. 🙂 Your husband has a great eye though – that tweed will make a nice jacket!

  2. Pingback: Silks and Tweeds | Falling Through Your Clothes

  3. Pingback: Starting a Project | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

