Finished: Sewaholic Minoru Rain Jacket (“Here Comes the Rain Again” Jacket)

I wanted to call my jacket something inspired from the UK.  What better than Annie Lennox/Eurythmics “Here Comes the Rain Again”?

DSC02181

Stein and I scheduled this garment photo shoot earlier in the week for Sunday so it wouldn’t be so busy downtown.  Then it decided to snow.  In April!  I know!

A 12-meter sculpture, created by Barcelona-based designer Jaume Plensa,  entitled "Wonderland"

A 12-meter sculpture, created by Barcelona-based designer Jaume Plensa, entitled “Wonderland”

I decided to take advantage of the photo shoot to get a good look at the new sculpture in our downtown.  Wonderland.  It’s pretty incredible from further away…

DSC02129

…and close up.  She’s beautiful.

DSC02116

All set for rain in London! (My jeans are not dirty, that’s snow continuing to fall all morning.)

DSC02170

Inside the jacket is the “London sites” fabric!

DSC02155

Inside the Wonderland sculpture looking out.  Isn’t it serene? or terrifying?  Something from Doctor Who?

DSC02219

All done!  Ready for London!  I hope London is ready for me!

DSC02150

What I’m listening to: Set the World on Fire by David Bowie

32 thoughts on “Finished: Sewaholic Minoru Rain Jacket (“Here Comes the Rain Again” Jacket)

  1. What an awesome coat! I love how cheery the blue exterior is and the inside is like a little bit of fun waiting to be unleashed. I like the bit of grey piping, it sets off those seams nicely.

    • I’d be totally jealous if I didn’t have my own trip planned.
      Have a great time and drop me an email of tips if you don’t blog about it please.
      I don’t want to miss a thing!

    • Thanks so much! It’s a bright jacket, for sure. Since we get about 4 days of rain a year it won’t be seen too frequently.
      I hope to make a more subtle version of the Minoru. 🙂

  2. Your jacket is just as stunning as the statue! Both are amazing pieces of art and how lucky you are to have both of them 🙂 Oh by the way I’m a HUGE FAN of Annie Lennox/Eurythmics and you couldn’t have picked a better song for this post!!

    • Thanks so much!
      I love that our city is gaining a little culture. Since my city has only existed since the 1890’s it’s quite young. We are finally learning the importance of beauty and art.
      Looking forward to seeing true history in London!

  3. You look fantastic and I LOVE that jacket!!! so gorgeous on both counts. Also I was remembering that a year ago today I was on a plane to Coachella (sad) and it was a snowstorm as well. Not missing the epic alberta winters!!

  4. Your Minoru is fabulous! And so is your photography location, wow, loved the inside out picture, freaky! 🙂 Your lining gave me a giggle, very appropriate for your upcoming trip, have fun xx

  5. Pingback: Me Made May ’13: Days 6-12 | Falling Through Your Clothes

  6. Pingback: Me Made May ’13: Days 20-26 | Falling Through Your Clothes

  7. Pingback: Me Made May ’13: Days 27 to 31 | Falling Through Your Clothes

  8. Pingback: Top 5 of 2013! | Falling Through Your Clothes

  9. Pingback: Me-Made-May’14 Week 1 | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

