2013 First-Half Plans and Promises

These are my plans for the first half of the year. Not all are promises. I decided to narrow down to 12 patterns for the year. One per month. With easier patterns interspersed among the more difficult ones. This isn’t everything that I am going to sew but it will help me focus on items that I want ready for trips and events.

January is jumpin’!

20130101-184540.jpg

The Sewaholic Alma blouse in a red and cream polka dot fabric. The fabric was on sale for $6 a metre so I went for it. Sort of a wearable muslin. When I looked up the pattern on the Sewaholic website I realized that I am basically copying Tasia’s original Alma. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery?

Fabulous February!

20130101-185028.jpg

The Gertie velvet coat. The pattern is labeled easy but it will be a little time-consuming with the metres and metres of fabric. If I complete it in February I can still wear it for a few months before we get our western Canadian spring…around May.

March is Magnifique!

20130101-190657.jpg

A retro robe. I was originally going to find a navy satin but I’ll be sewing up a lot of blue this year so maybe I’ll make it in black or gold (?). Oo, la la!

Awesome April!

20130101-191927.jpg

Butterick 5486.  Summer dress for, well, summer, and also to wear on a spring trip to the US. Our annual (fabric) shopping trip in May. Not sure about fabric yet. Maybe a voile or gauze in green.

Marvelous May!

20130101-200341.jpg

A maxi skirt, Butterick 5756,  for the same spring trip and for the summer. Check out Scruffy Badger’s gorgeous version in a border print.

Jolly June!

20130101-201152.jpg

I completed the geometric print New Look dress in 2012. This year I will stitch up the Sewaholic Cambie dress in my navy polka dot fabric.

What do you have planned for 2013? Do you sew with a plan SWAP?

What I’m listening to: Myth by Beach House

13 thoughts on “2013 First-Half Plans and Promises

  1. Oh I am so bad at making plans and following through. Probably the surest way for me to not do something is to plan on it. I’m putting some thought into that at the moment, it needs to be a new year post of some sort. I do like your plan, all of the patterns seem fab and very suited to you.

  2. Wonderful plans!! I’m especially excited to see your Gertie coat!! That fabric is so luxe 🙂

    I am sewing with a plan too! I’m trying to build a wardrobe slowly but surely so I need a plan to keep me focused on making pieces that will get worn and will match lol ^_^

  3. Great plans – I have the skirt pattern and have been thinking of making that up.

    BTW – I am about to launch the Plus Size Pattern Pyramid. I have enough patterns for 3 draws.

    • Thanks for the comment! I can’t comment on your blog from my ipad. Something with the login… But I will get on there. Great job with the PS Pattern Pyramid.
      I love a maxi dress/skirt. Looking forward to this one.

  4. Pingback: No one can say I am scared of commitment | Falling Through Your Clothes

  5. Pingback: London Calling: Outfit Planning for Travelling | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

