Adding to the stash in Vancouver

I only made it to Dressew Supply while in Vancouver but I did pick up a couple of beauties.

This is the vintage 1953 Simplicity pattern that I kept from the Pattern Pyramid Giveaway.  I found a Chinese “silk” brocade.  Okay, it’s not really silk but I loved the print and colour so much.  I’m going to consider it a wearable muslin since I will be grading up this pattern.

I know this photo does not do the colour justice.  It’s a midnight blue crushed velvet for my Gertie coat.  Stein loved this fabric and colour.  He thought crushed velvet looked better than the flat (or whatever uncrushed velvet is called).  I figured it would hide my mistakes better.  🙂

I also bought lining.  Boring charcoal so no photos.  Stein suggested a colourful lining but since I’m already making a long crushed velvet coat I don’t think I need more drama.

I’m actually nervous and excited about starting these projects.  Gertie’s coat sewalong has come at a perfect time.

What are your fall/winter sewing plans?

What I’m listening to: I’m Not Talking by A.C. Newman

6 thoughts on “Adding to the stash in Vancouver

  1. Love the burgundy fabric, I sure hope the first version turns out okay becauase I love that colour and print too. Good choice.
    I think you’re onto a good thing of the crushed velvet hiding a few things. Ironing will be a little less tricky than with regular velvet.

Leave a Reply

