New Patterns

I am still working on my New Look dress. It’s coming along.
20120913-211119.jpg

Colette has two new patterns! A jacket and a trouser pattern. I love the Juniper pants. Wide-legged, which I love, but fitted at the hip. I will make these eventually.

I took advantage of Tasia’s moving sale and bought these.

20120913-211216.jpg

I bought the fabric during my trip to Vancouver. I planned to use the mushroom-colored bamboo knit for a Renfrew top. I didn’t know when I bought it that I didn’t have the pattern. D’uh. Can I make an Alma blouse with the silk chiffon or am I crazy? I have worked with chiffon a lot but it’s not recommended for this pattern…not that it is excluded, just not suggested.

Anyway, that’s what I’m doing. What are you doing? Are you buying the new Colette patterns?

What I’m listening to: Flaggin A Ride by Divine Fits

18 thoughts on “New Patterns

  1. Which neckline are you thinking of for Renfrew? I bought Alma on the moving sale as well. It and Cambie arrived the other day.
    Silk chiffon should be good, it calls for light wovens. It just might drape differently than say a cotton shirting version.

      • I find the cowl nice as it’s a bit dressier than the other necklines. The wear well to work. But.. it is a fabric hog if you find yourself short, I did two different fabrics on the cowl when I was short because you only really see the inside (to your face when it’s pulled up).

  2. If the chiffon was costly I would probably refrain from using it. If not, go for it!

    I totally want the new Colette patterns but I really really have to start making more of the ones I have πŸ™‚ But man, that jacket is calling to me.

    • Maybe I can pick up a cheap poly chiffon and do a wearable muslin?
      Those Juniper trousers are calling to me. And the jacket would look so cute on you. You can never have too many jackets! Not in your climate or mine!

      • Yes! Do that. It’s nice to have a test run with something you’re not too sure about.

        I haven’t sewn a jacket and I so need to. I may buy the pattern sooner rather than later πŸ™‚

        If you get the trousers I look forward to seeing them. I am tempted by them but having the Thurlows on my list I can’t reason myself into buying Juniper…yet πŸ™‚

    • It’s the “new” factor. You just have to have it! The jacket will be a staple though.
      I had summer stuff to finish but no point now. Fall is imminent so a jacket and the Juniper trousers will be perfect for the cold weather.

  3. i love that green fabric and think it would make a great alma! I’d do a test run on some cheap fabric too. That’s what i’m working on right now, my test run. I’ve had to alter the sleeves a bit and lengthen the bodice, but otherwise, so far so good. Looks like your new look dress is coming along nicely!!

  4. I think chiffon would work but you’ll have to underline it so the facing doesn’t show through. And I would definitely do a wearable muslin – will be watching your site for an update as I was planning georgette Alma blouses and will be wondering how it turns out for you. Have fun!

  5. Pingback: Change of Plans | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

