A Story Including Static and Bias

I cut out the fabric pieces for my maxi dress, Butterick 5755. I immediately remembered how sewing with sheers is a static nightmare. The pieces were so staticy they stuck together as I laid them out. I have decided to run the humidifier in the sewing room from now on. Will that help? We’ll see.

20120324-214823.jpg

Here is my fabric over my lining fabric. I probably should have chosen one of the anti-static lining fabrics but I wanted something that felt nice next to my skin and that was cool enough for hot weather. Here’s hoping the two don’t cause me to combust!

20120324-215125.jpg

A side benefit of my new serger is that I can finish the raw edges of my fabrics before I wash them. That way they don’t ravel and become a tangled mass of balled up fabric in the machine. Doesn’t my new camera take nice close-ups?

Another issue with Butterick 5755 may not be an issue. I’m not sure.

20120324-215758.jpg

See how there is an overlay over the bodice? The bodice underneath and the skirt are cut on the lengthwise grain of the fabric. So the stripe-type things on my fabric run up and down. The overlay is cut on the bias. That means that the pattern piece is laid out at a 45 degree angle. The reason for cutting on the bias is so the piece will have a flowy drape since the grain of the fabric isn’t running straight up and down, but at an angle.

20120324-220108.jpg

You can see on the overlay the stripes run at an angle, not up and down. Hmmm. Will this look weird when it’s done? Again, I’m not sure. I have enough fabric to recut if I think it will look better cut straight. We’ll have to see.

Also, I wish I had bought the lining in a darker, or colourful, fabric. I thought the light grey was nice for summer but the red of my bedsheets (those are my sheets) really bring out the raspberry in my fabric. Oh well.

This should be a quick project with my serger. Looking forward to trying a rolled hem.

What I’ve been listening to: Stuck Between Stations by The Hold Steady

4 thoughts on “A Story Including Static and Bias

  1. Hmm, do you have enough to re-cut half the bodice on the bias? I’d be SOO tempted to add a seam at CF (and CB) to get that nifty chevron effect. If not, I think it’ll still look lovely.

    I shall hope that the new serger makes the actual sewing bit go much easier for this dress—because as I said, I’m utterly terrified of chiffon. 🙂

    • I had the exact same thought about creating a centre seam. I might go ahead and see how it looks.
      The serger feed dogs don’t “eat” the fabric so that is a huge plus. I’m also looking forward to a rolled hem. It’ll help keep length which I always need.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. hmm, didn’t see that coming, but I can see how it would help with the floaty effect. It could be a really nice design feature, it does look pretty at an angle but strange that the skirt isn’t the same. I see they mention this being unsuitable for obvious diagonals, maybe they should have just said directional fabrics.

    • I read up on diagonal vs directional. I thought maybe I misunderstood. But I got it right…it just might look wrong.
      I like the skirt lines running vertically. Helps with the long, lean look, ya know? 🙂
      I’ll plug away and hopefully it looks interesting and purposeful when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

