Finished: Pewter Cape, or, I hoped you said cake

“I’m going to make a cape.” I said to Stein after we received an invite to a party. “A cake?” he asked. “No, a cape.” I replied. He said quietly, “I thought you said cape but I was just hoping you said cake.”

How funny is it that my husband thinks it is more likely that I am making a cape than a cake.

20111104-134139.jpg

Anyway, that brings us to the Pewter Refashioned Cape. I knew that I was going to wear my Plum Ballet Dress.  The original plan was to buy some organza or other sheer fabric and pull out trusty Vogue 8604. Then I remembered the pewter shawl that I’ve had awhile and wondered if I could stitch it into what I wanted.

20111104-133620.jpg

What I never liked about wearing the shawl is that it looks like what everyone else is wearing. And I feel like a girl with fat arms trying to pretend like she doesn’t have fat arms. In reality a shawl/cape/jacket is a further opportunity to add style to an outfit. The shawl has just run its course. For me.

I completely digress.

Vogue 8604 is actually a jacket which I have made before.

20111104-140229.jpg

I have also made this into a cape.

20111104-140310.jpg

I cut the 2 front and 2 back pieces out of the shawl fabric. I cut it short where the pattern dips in to create the sides of the jacket since I wouldn’t need to join the sides.  (Pictures with the iPad again.  Sorry for the dark pics.)  You can see at the bottom of the photo where the pattern dips in slightly.

20111104-134316.jpg

Hey everybody! I sewed French seams for the first time! I put the back pieces wrong side together and sewed a 1/4 inch seam. (I actually just sewed it with the needle set to centre and the edge of the seam in line with the edge of the presser foot.  I guessed that it was 1/4 inch.)

20111104-135212.jpg

The seam is then pressed to the side and folded over right sides together and a 1/2 inch seam is sewn. (In reality I moved the needle to the left and lined the edge of the fabric with the edge of the presser foot. I assume it is 1/2 an inch.) The photo below was taken after the seam was stitched. I just wanted to show needle and fabric placement.  The important thing is that your second seam is wider to completely enclose the edges from your first seam.  And don’t forget to trim your notches!

20111104-135055.jpg

You can see that the raw edge gets enclosed in the seam. This prevents fraying and is a neat finish.

20111104-134547.jpg

I decided to finish the hem and edges with bias tape.  I wasn’t 100% sold on the finished look but considering it was recycled fabric and took me just a couple of hours I guess it turned out okay.

Pewter Cape

I skipped the collar and added a flower-shaped rhinestone button that was recycled from a sweater I bought years ago.  Don’t have the sweater anymore but kept the buttons.  I added a snap at the neck under the button.

Pewter Cape over my Plum Ballet Dress

This is the end of the night so I’m already wrinkled and sleepy.

Feel free to add a comment if you have questions about altering the pattern or sewing french seams.  I didn’t even want to call this a tutorial since others do those so well but I can certainly let you know what I learned.  🙂

Have you refashioned an item you just weren’t in love with?  Do you buy items with the intention of refashioning?

What I’m listening to: My Maudlin Career by Camera Obscura

7 thoughts on “Finished: Pewter Cape, or, I hoped you said cake

  1. Oh that’s a great outfit, I love the plum dress and the cape finished off the outfit nicely.
    I hold onto clothing for refashioning but never get around to doing it, it’s probably best that I don’t buy with the intention to refashion. I have a shirt that my husband adored but he literally wore it until the fabric started to wear at the seams and tear. I want to do something with that at some point, but I haven’t quite found the right project for it.

  2. Pingback: Review of Butterick Winter 2011, or, Looks like Vogue | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

