I Like This Stuff – 6th Edition (Friendly Bloggers & Flight Attendants)

Après my challenge in September I’ve been a little lax on sewing and blogging. Sometimes life happens and gets in the way. Things have been great, though, just busy!

Today was a holiday and the only sewing I got done was adding interfacing to the waistband for my Crescent Skirt.

20111010-203128.jpg

I was going to do a tutorial on fusing interfacing to fabric pieces but it’s been done well elsewhere. Check YouTube or The Google. My big reminder is to PRESS. Don’t move the iron around or it will create wrinkles or puckering.

20111010-203456.jpg

Exciting photo of interfacing with chalked pattern piece number. For my non-sewing friends, interfacing is fused to the fabric to add stiffness and body to the fabric.

Anyway, please enjoy some of my friends who have been stitching AND blogging. Overachievers! 🙂

Vicki Kate Makes a circle skirt. And it’s gorgeous.

Tanit-Isis is starting her own little sweatshop with child labour. Check out Mini-Isis’ sewing project.

Colette Patterns is doing a sew along for their Clover trousers. But the fit tips are great for any fitted trouser pattern.

I am in love with Pan Am. I don’t think I’ll watch any of the other new shows. Meh. Nothing interesting. But Pan Am has some great acting, intriguing story lines and THE CLOTHES. Enjoy.

20111010-210903.jpg

20111010-210946.jpg

20111010-211017.jpg

20111010-211112.jpg
20111010-212830.jpg

What I’m listening to: Cruel by St. Vincent (if you aren’t afraid of post traumatic stress disorder, check out the black humourous video)

10 thoughts on “I Like This Stuff – 6th Edition (Friendly Bloggers & Flight Attendants)

  1. I love your peacock fabric! I seem to always miss PanAm when it airs but the green suit (as ill fitting as it is) is to die for. I’m also loving Ricci’s dress.

    • Thank you! The peacock fabric is one of my favourite prints/colours I’ve ever bought.
      I thought the same thing about the green suit! Then I wondered if it was intentional. Not sure how much stewardesses got paid back in the day. And they certainly wouldn’t be sewing their own. Plus they would live out of a suitcase…hense the poor pressing job. 😦

  2. I love your peacock fabric so much I can’t wait to see your crescent skirt finished! And I love Ricci’s dress and hair as well as the dress the girl in the second photo is wearing (I’m sorry I don’t know who she is!), it makes me think of Colette Patterns’ Chantilly. I wish I could watch it just for the dresses, but it doesn’t seem to be possible over here in the UK 😦

    • Thanks! I hope I finish my Crescent some day…
      Even if you can’t watch Pan Am you can find images online. I love the dress fabric prints. I love what Mad Men has done for vintage.
      Try to find images from Pan Am’s wedding flashback. The bride, MOH and MOB dresses had similar features. Really great idea to have a theme for the wedding party without matchy-matchy.
      Loved your circle skirt! Obvs.

    • I hope they keep the story lines interesting. As much as I love to travel I know this is NOT the way I want to do it.
      I was thinking I needed a makeup makeover. Maybe I should think 60’s…

  3. Aww, thanks for the link! Now when I can get the kids to make clothes for ME, then I’ll be getting somewhere ;).

    I am so ambivalent about 60s fashion it’s ridiculous… sometime I love it, sometimes I hate hate hate it…

    • Train them well. Maybe they can even convince their dad to be on their future blogs. 🙂
      I agree about vintage. I’m not one for the hairstyles and full vintage look. I like the length, silhouette and fabrics but you won’t see me trying to copy the look.
      I do love people dressing to fly. I wish everyone still did that.

Leave a Reply

