SSS: Days 4 & 5 (Perpetually Overdressed)

My dad is in the hospital having a procedure today. Best wishes, Dad, and a speedy recovery!

New florist in our neighborhood (Look at the "sushi" orchids!)

Only 6 days left to enter for a chance to win a sewing gift set!  Add a comment to THIS blog post for a chance to win.

Day 4 was a beautiful day with a beautiful dress to match. (Am I allowed to call my own dress beautiful?) I had a completely different outfit in mind but the weather was SO gorgeous I had to take advantage and pull out this dress.

Rust Floral Dress (Butterick 5490)

It is my Rust Floral Dress that I stitched up last year for my baby bro’s wedding. I swapped the white cardigan, recently purchased from Cassis, for the Rust Eyelet Cape that I wore to the wedding. Almost a little Stepford wife, isn’t it? Accessories include my butterfly bangle and gold hoop earrings.

We went to our place of worship in the morning. In the afternoon we went to pick up my little bro and his wife to take them to the airport. They are headed to South America for the next month. I know they will have a great time. I was a little envious when they first started planning, until I saw my sis-in-law’s backpack. It only weighs 18lbs and contains 2 pairs of shoes. (She will wear the 3rd pair.) That is just too rugged for Funnygrrl. There is a reason the word “hostel” is so close to “hostile”.

Navy & White Wrap Skirt

Day 5 was a holiday. Housework and laundry were the order of the day so I spent most of the day in my Floral Maxi dress. We also went for a walk to enjoy ANOTHER beautiful day and I wore my Navy & White Wrap Skirt.  (Read about the major mistake that led to this skirt.)   I matched it with a tank top so I could get a little sun on my fish-belly white shoulders. For shoes I went with my sparkly diamond flats.

Sparkly Diamond Flats (Nine West)

We noticed that a floral shop had opened in our neighbourhood.  This guy is an artist!  He had “sushi” arrangements (see 1st photo in post) and gorgeous centrepieces.  Wow!  We spoke to him a little, welcomed him to the neighbourhood, and I strongly encouraged Stein to take a business card.  🙂

Skirt could have used a pressing. *blush*

Since the weekend was also a holiday for Stein I decided to give him a break in the kitchen. Maybe the ’50s-inspired look from the day before went to my head and I have turned into a domesticated woman!?

Linguine with Red Clam Sauce

Not bad for a kitchen-expatriate, eh?

Anyone else participating in Self-Stitched September? Are you working on items for the next challenge?

What I’m listening to: From the Mouth of Gabriel by Sufjan Stevens

2 thoughts on “SSS: Days 4 & 5 (Perpetually Overdressed)

Leave a Reply

