I have a new favourite designer

I have a great app(lication) on my iPad that links to runway shows. To be honest, quite often I skip to the end when the models all come out together. It gives you a summary of the collection and let’s me know if I want to look at the whole show.

Recently the Fall/Winter 2011 collections have been showing up. I know of Alberta Ferretti from her red carpet gowns but wasn’t as familiar with her other designs.

Check out the mod 60’s inspired coats, dresses and separates. And the velvet boots. Yummy!

20110605-105553.jpg

20110605-095003.jpg

20110605-095018.jpg

20110605-095027.jpg

20110605-095036.jpg

20110605-095044.jpg

I always thought of 60’s as being largely the Twiggy-look. Meaning it wouldn’t translate to my body very well but what about those separates with the bold colour? Nice, right?

Ferretti can always do a gorgeous gown. So completely feminine.

All it means to me to have a fave designer is that I will grab inspiration and use it in my sewing and shopping. The wonderful thing about sewing is that you can chose a retro pattern and use modern fabric, or a modern pattern and use 60’s inspired fabric to make a piece uniquely yours.

What I’m listening to: To Sir With Love by Lulu

Leave a Reply

