Fabric from the desert

I have been so ill since I got back from my trip. I have been lying down for the last two and a half days. There seems to be some light at the end of the tunnel finally.

Anyway, back to more important sewing related things. The only fabric store that I had a chance to visit on vacation was a Joann’s Fabric and Crafts store. It had a lot of quilting cottons but I did find some other gems.

20110424-101842.jpg

I saw this peacock feather print with the red background and immediately thought of the Sewaholic Crescent skirt pattern. I’m so excited to catch up with the sew along!

20110424-102301.jpg

Even in spring, in a hot desert city in California, my eye is still drawn to black. I thought the red accents were so pretty and the print looked Asian-inspired. Lovely for this dress pattern that I have been hanging on to.

20110424-103247.jpg

I have had this wardrobe pattern for a long time. I couldn’t imagine the coat dress in anything but a linen. When I saw this off-white with the black leaf print I knew it would be perfect.

And then I found what I have been dreaming about. Fabric for my ScarJo dress. I saw this photo last year.

20110424-103806.jpg

I shared it on Facebook and friends told me to sew it. I went through some Vogue dress patterns and saw this Vintage Vogue.

20110424-104207.jpg

It isn’t as formal a dress as the original (Mango Fall/Winter 2010) but I do want more of a day dress anyway. I plan to add boning to the bodice. I will have to do some research on adding boning to a pattern that doesn’t include it already. This is the fabric.

20110424-104644.jpg

It has more white and not as much navy as the original but I thought it would be a good choice for my version. I am really excited to work on some new techniques and complete this dress.

What do you think of my choices? What should I start after the Crescent Skirt?

What I’m listening to: Big Wave by Jenny & Johnny

7 thoughts on “Fabric from the desert

  1. Cute! I’d do the vintage vogue dress next. It’s easy to add boning to a pattern that doesn’t call for it – I was thinking of doing a tutorial from my Common Thread project dress, on how to add boning to a bodice. Now I think I will, just for you! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Welcome back and I hope you feel better! That peacock fabric is gorgeous!

    • Ask and ye shall receive.
      Thanks Tasia! I did look at Gertie’s tutorial on boning and one from you would help round out my knowledge. Can I do a muslin for fit and then tear out the boning to re-use it? Or is it cheap enough to buy twice? I haven’t even looked at the cost.
      I loved the peacock fabric as soon as I saw it. Usually peacock feathers are associated with blues and greens so when I saw the red, I had to have it.

  2. I do my muslins without boning, and only add it into the finished garment. The plastic boning is pretty cheap compared to the metal kind, you could probably add it in and rip it out but I wouldn’t – unless the boning needs to be there for the fit to be right, like in a strapless dress. (And even then, my last strapless dress I did the muslin without any boning. Couture houses would probably using boning in muslins but I wouldn’t think it’s necessary..)
    Hope that helps! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Aww thanks! And welcome. I plan to make the Sewaholic Crescent Skirt but as always, got sidetracked. Hopefully I get it done so I can wear it this summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: It Is Good To Have Goals | Falling Through Your Clothes

  4. Pingback: Finished: Peacock Crescent Skirt (Worth the 7 month wait?) | Falling Through Your Clothes

Leave a Reply

