What’s In A Name?

"Hello, Gorgeous"

I have had my on-line persona, Funnygrrl, for over a decade now. It comes from the Barbra Streisand classic, Funny Girl, which I saw as a kid and loved. I added the “grrl” because I do have a bit of an edge.  🙂

Growing up I never watched musicals because my dad hated them, though he made an exception for Fiddler On The Roof, so I must have seen Funny Girl on my own. (I have yet to see Singing in the Rain, which shocks my friend Beverly). To defend my dad, we did watch Zeffirelli’s Romeo & Juliet, To Sir With Love and Hitchcock films repeatedly.  We just didn’t watch musicals.

Watching Funny Girl, I probably loved the costumes and the idea of performing, even though I was a shy kid. Heck, you couldn’t call Barbra outgoing offstage either, could you? 

Anyway, TCM is showing Funny Girl now and I’m settling in to watch. If you get a chance, do yourself a favour and check it out.

What I’m listening to: Babs (duh!)

Leave a Reply

