My Sewing Space

My sewing space

Tonight a simple trip to Fabricland for a zipper and bias tape turned into a complete room makeover. My husband, Stein, wanted me to check out a desk he saw at Home Sense. Well, we bought the desk, a chair and a beautiful fashion print.  (Yes, that is a monarch butterfly gown in the print.)

I feel so inspired! But it’s after 9:00pm so all I can handle is some blogging. I hope to take full advantage of my new space this weekend.

I am working on the skirt from Vogue 8604. I have already made the jacket and pants from this pattern. I also modified the jacket a second time to make a cape to go with the dress I made for my brother’s wedding.  (Pics to come!)

The skirt is high-waisted and I am making it out of a stretch cotton blend. It is chocolate with a pink stripe. Unfortunately after I prewashed the fabric the brown shrunk but the pink stripes didn’t so the fabric is a little puckery. The facing seemed to improve after I fused the interfacing on so hopefully a good pressing at the end will make it presentable.

Sorry for the dark photos.  I was using my iPhone as I am too lazy to use my actual camera and upload photos.  Anyway, you get the idea.

What I’m listening to: Ready to Start by Arcade Fire

V8604 High-waisted skirt

Leave a Reply

